Durham Student Theatre acts as a umbrella society, representing Durham’s most successful theatre companies. This year we have 25 constituent theatre companies. Read more about them below.

DST Theatre Companies

DST Theatre Companies are facilitated by Experience Durham and each one brings something unique to our theatre scene.

Buttered Toast

Presidents: Jazzy Price and Qasim Salam

Specialises in new writing, producing showcases for emerging writers.

Durham Improvised Musical

President: Sam Baumal

Durham Improvised Musical is just what it says on the tin.

Durham Opera Ensemble

President: Ashleigh Charlton

The university’s leading opera group.

The Durham Revue

President: Luke Maskell

Established in 1974, The Durham Revue is Durham’s longest-running sketch comedy troupe.

Durham University Classical Theatre

President: George Ellis

DUCT is committed to producing the best of classical theatre.

Durham University Light Opera Group

President: Issie Osborne

DULOG is Durham’s largest musical theatre society.

First Theatre Company

President: Laura Hepworth

1TC aims to provide support and opportunities for first-time directors and producers.

Fourth Wall

Presidents: Fergus Neville and Hetty Hodgson

Fourth Wall is dedicated to staging high-quality dramas, as well as producing translated works.

Letterbox Productions

President: Katie O’Toole

Letterbox Productions is an exciting newly rebranded theatre company – that works to connect the stage with the silver screen!

Ooook! Productions

President: Talor Hanson

Ooook! is a friendly and outreaching theatre company, specialising in comedy productions.

Pitch Productions

Presidents: Sophie Washington-Sare and Lucien Rhys

A new theatre company providing an open, fostering platform for theatre makers and emerging writers alike.

Sightline Productions

President: Angharad Phillips

Sightline Productions is an outreach theatre company providing a platform for the underrepresented.

Tone Deaf Theatre Company

President: Saroja Lily Ratnavel

TDTC was founded with with the aim of bringing small cast modern musicals to Durham.

Wrong Tree

President: Hiba Benhamed

Durham’s only devised theatre group, focusing on ensemble practice.

College Theatre Companies

College Theatre Companies are run and managed by the JCR of the individual colleges at the univeristy. Some of these are open to all regardless of their college, others are college-only theatre companies.

Aidan’s College Theatre

President: Eleri Crossland

A rising theatre company associated with St. Aidan’s College.

Bailey Theatre Company

President: Adam Armytage

Bailey Theatre Company of St. John’s College intends to continue producing original plays.

Castle Theatre Company

President: Theo Holt-Bailey

CTC is the oldest and one of the largest theatre companies, staging shows within Durham Castle.

Collingwood Woodplayers

Presidents: Louis Mayo and Jess Green

The Woodplayers perform four shows each year – including a musical, and are based at Collingwood college.

Feather Theatre Company

President: Luke Titmuss

Van Mildert’s official theatre group, offering both college-only and university-wide productions.

Foot of the Hill Theatre

President: Rebecca Kingston

The Foot of the Hill Theatre” is based at St Mary’s College and run by Mary’s Drama society.

Hild Bede Theatre

President: Elliot Burford

Hild Bede Theatre is the largest college drama society in Durham. A vibrant community staging a minimum of three shows a year.

Lion Theatre Company

President: Qasim Salam

Lion Theatre Company (LTC), Hatfield College’s drama society.

Phoenix Theatre Company

President: Max Lindon

Grey College’s very own theatre company, which strives to help both Grey and non-Grey students alike realise their theatrical visions.

Society of Theatrical Arts at Butler

Presidents: Emma Williams and Swara Fife

STAB is the Society of Theatrical Arts at Butler. We are still a theatre group ‘in the making’ and very open for ideas and new people!

St. Chad’s College Green Door Theatre Company

President: Marcus Dell

Green Door is St Chad’s College’s resident theatre company.

Trevelyan College Musical Society

President: Jonathan White

Trevelyan College Musical Society provides the colleges annual musical, created and performed by the fantastic talent of Trevelyan students!